More cruise ships will cross the Canal

El “Seven Seas Explorer”.

This post is also available in: Spanish

The “Seven Seas Explorer”.

The “Seven Seas Explorer”.

More than 230 cruise ships will transit the Panama Canal during the 2016-2017 season, which begins on October 4, when the “Coral Princess” crosses the waterway on its way to Los Angeles, on the west coast of the United States. The vessel is owned and operated by Princess Cruise line.

Smaller ships such as the “Safari Voyager” and the National Geographic “Sea Lion”, will also cross the Canal on their way to the west coast of Central America.

This season there will be three additional cruise ships owned by Regent Seven Seas, Holland America Line and Noble Caledonia. The first of them, the “Seven Seas Explorer2”, will transit on January 2, 2017 while the “Eurodam” and ”Hebridean Sky”, will cross on April 13 and April 17 respectively.

The “Seven Seas Explorer” has capacity for 750 passengers and will depart from Miami, Florida, doing stopovers in Cartagena, Punta Arenas, Corinto, Puerto Quetzal, Acapulco and San Diego, finally arriving in Los Angeles.

The Panama Canal has informed its cruise ship line clients that they can make transit reservations for their neo-panamax vessels, which are planning to go through the third set of locks between April 1, and June 26, 2017. So far eleven cruise ships have reserved their spot for the 2017-2018 season.


Related posts